Ronaldo finally equal Asamoah Gyan five years record.

Cristiano Ronaldo became the top scorer in men’s European Championship history as Portugal beat Hungary 3-0 in front of more than 60,000 fans in Budapest.

Ronaldo converted an 87th-minute penalty for his 10th goal in the competition, overtaking France’s Michel Platini on nine goals.

But that was not the only record the Juventus star set in the game.


By scoring at Euro 2020, the 36 year old also became only the 2nd player in history to score at nine consecutive major international tournaments, equaling Ghana’s Asamoah Gyan’s record set in 2017.

Gyan became the first player to reach the milestone after he scored the winner against Mali in Ghana’s second group game at AFCON 2017. That goal meant Gyan had scored in six different AFCONS and three different World Cups.

The record has stood since then until Ronaldo equaled it at Euro 2020.

Which tournaments have they scored in? 

Asamoah Gyan:

World Cup 2006

AFCON 2008

AFCON 2010

World Cup 2010

AFCON 2012

AFCON 2013

World Cup 2014

AFCON 2015

AFCON 2017

Cristiano Ronaldo

Euro 2004

World Cup 2006

Euro 2008

World Cup 2010

Euro 2012

World Cup 2014

Euro 2016

World Cup 2018

Euro 2020

About Bashiru Karim Atindaana

Young, bold, eloquent, intelligent, and ambitious. I always strive to be the best version of myself. Self-motivation and hard work is my hallmark.

Check Also

I have no regret taking up the Kotoko job and I will never regret – Nana Yaw Amponsah.

  Some of the refereeing decisions that went against Kotoko this season, I believe if …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *